About Me

My name is Sophie and I’m a third year journalism student at the University of Gloucestershire. I’m 22-years-old and currently have a part time job at a coffee shop, but have aspirations to work in the media industry. I’ve had work experience with a number of marketing/PR agencies where I learnt invaluable skills such as: social media management, writing competitor reports, SEO, copywriting, meeting with clients and perfecting my writing skills through various blog articles and press releases.

As cliche as it sounds, ever since I was little I’ve always wanted to pursue journalism; it’s an exciting, challenging, “on your toes” occupation which appeals so much to me and I can’t wait to start my career in the profession.

I love writing and sharing ideas which is why I wanted to start this website. The main areas covered in my blog are journalism, reviews and lifestyle. I hope you enjoy my posts as much as I enjoy writing them!

I thought the best way to learn even more about me would be through a short Q&A so here goes…

1. What’s your favourite thing to do in your spare time?

I love spending time with family and friends, going on runs, shopping, watching films and writing this blog of course.

2. What would be your dream job?

Eventually, I would love to set up my own travel/leisure PR company. I think after enjoying my work experience as much as I did, it made me realise that it’s something I’d love to do everyday.

3. What’s your biggest achievement?

Personal: Travelling around Australia and actually surviving for four months! I did some amazing things like skydiving, snorkelling in the Great Barrier Reef and climbing the Opera House.

Journalism: Interviewing Natalie Bennett the former Green Party leader – I was working on a piece about a greenbelt in Cheltenham and as soon as I knew Natalie was attending a campaign in the area, I leapt at the opportunity to interview her.

4. What’s your biggest fear?

I absolutely hate the sea and this fears only got worse as I’ve got older. A couple years ago I’d probably reluctantly go in, but now there would be no chance.

5. Where can you see yourself in 10-years from now?

Living in Australia, working in PR and hopefully just being happy with everything.

Please feel free to view my LinkedIn account here for further details of my professional and personal experiences. Or, even better, follow me on Twitter: @sophiejourno