MY BIGGEST ACHIEVEMENT:

I went for a job interview a couple of weeks ago and one of the questions asked was: “What is your biggest achievement in life?” and it stumped me for a few seconds. At the time, the only thing I could think of was travelling which is what I had to say, but when I got home it got me thinking about what actually is my biggest achievement in life?

“To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

I’m 22-years-old who’s experienced a lifetime of memories, so much so that it seems almost impossible to pinpoint just one event from my past that’s considered the definitive ‘greatest achievement’. I’ve completed my A-Levels, got a degree and been travelling around Australia, but it still doesn’t feel enough to be named the ultimate achievement. Yes, travelling was an amazing experience and as cliche as it sounds I learnt a lot about people, the world and life itself but it doesn’t feel enough to be my biggest accomplishment in life.

I don’t think there’s one single event that can be named my biggest achievement. The biggest accomplishment for me is today, being here and writing this blog post. Everything I’ve done in my life has helped me arrive at this moment right now. 

My biggest achievement isn’t anything in the past, it’s the present. For some, one monumental event can stand out as their biggest achievement, but this isn’t the case for me. I feel proud and a sense of fulfilment when thinking about certain things I’ve achieved and accomplished, but it’s not about one single event and I think that’s the same for a lot people.

Maybe when I’ve graduated in November that will stand out as my biggest achievement because university has been such a challenging but hugely rewarding experience. I think at the moment I’m just happy with the direction my life’s going in which is all that matters.

I wish I could go back to the interview and change my answer but at the time the pressure got to me, but anyway I still managed to get the job so they must’ve liked my answer! What response would you give if you got asked this question? Is there a single event that stands out for you, or are you like me? I’d love to know about your biggest achievements either in the comments below or tweet me @sophiejourno.

Leave a Reply

