THE MET GALA 2017 – BEST AND WORST

The Met Gala is definitely the most anticipated fashion event of the year; it can only be described as fashion’s equivalent of the Oscars. The biggest names from the world of fashion, music and acting come together for this annual fundraising event, wearing the most daring red carpet looks which everyone can’t wait to see!

I was so excited when it was announced back in October that this year’s Met Gala would be themed around the legendary Rei Kawakubo and her Comme des Garçons line. As expected, it certainly made room for some stunning looks but also some interesting outfits too – it wouldn’t be the Met Gala without some weird and wonderful creations! So here are my three best dressed and worst dressed celebrities at this year’s Met Gala.

BEST DRESSED

Couple 😏😍 #blakelively #ryanreynolds

A post shared by Met Gala (@metgalaofficial) on

BLAKE LIVELY

Blake looked stunning. She always looks stunning. I absolutely adore her dress; the gold compliments her skin so well and the blue feathers complete the look perfectly. I also loved her make up, keeping it light and sticking to gorgeous gold shades – she didn’t need anything too heavy since her Versace dress made such a statement.  Without doubt, Blake’s dress was my absolute favourite of the night and I think a lot of you would agree!

A post shared by Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) on

SELENA GOMEZ

Selena definitely didn’t disappoint at this year’s Met Gala. Not only did she wear the most stunning dress, but she also made her red carpet debut with The Weekend which had everyone talking! I love how elegant and simple her dress is and I’m a massive fan of the  embroidery too; it adds such a classy finish. Also, the 90’s style choker, mini clutch and metallic ankle strap heels couldn’t have been a better choice!

#metgala2017

A post shared by Billboard Music Awards (@bbmas20l7) on

ZENDAYA

Wow! When I first saw this dress I literally had to double take, we all did! I think you either love it or hate it and I am loving it. This off-the-shoulder Dolce & Gabbana gown is everything; the bold colours, floral patterns and old-school Hollywood vibes definitely won it for me. If that wasn’t enough, her hair literally made jaws drop and her burnt orange lipstick just compliments everything perfectly!

WORST DRESSED

It's not a War #Madonna #MetGala 🤔

A post shared by Met Gala (@metgalaofficial) on

MADONNA

Oh dear Madonna! I’m not sure what she was trying to do here, but whatever it was it didn’t work for me. A camouflage-printed gown is not the best look. Hopefully next year she’ll tone it down because so far, at every Met Gala I can remember, Madonna has always been remembered for the wrong reasons. I’m not a huge fan of the dark make-up or the camo netting she’s carrying either.

KATY PERRY

There’s no denying it, Katy Perry wholeheartedly embraced the theme but unfortunately it just didn’t do it for me. Her dress was so bizarre and equally so was the headpiece she opted to wear. As the host of the night I expected her to go all out, but the ruffles and layers were way too much; it was hard to even recognise who it was underneath it all! It’s a definite no from me.

#RitaOra #MetGala ❤✔️

A post shared by Met Gala (@metgalaofficial) on

RITA ORA

From a distance I think this dress is okay but once you spot the red ribbons, black train and pink underskirt it all goes downhill. I think there’s too much going on, Rita can look amazing in the right dress so it was a shame she didn’t opt for something more sophisticated, effortless and chic like other events she’s attended.

So there you have it, that’s my best and worst dressed celebrities at the Met Gala 2017. Have I mentioned your favourite or worst dressed celebrity? I’d love to hear from you either in the comments below or tweet me @sophiejourno

Leave a Reply

